Australasian Association for Institutional Research Inc. /
2009 Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the 2009Annual General Meeting of the Australasian Association for Institutional Research (AAIR) held at the Intercontinental Hotel Adelaide commencing at 10.15 am on Friday,13th November, 2009

  1. Attendance


Name / Surname / Institution
Dave / Marr / ANU
Bob / Hall / Canterbury University
Roslyn / Clermont / USA
Julie / Staughair / Office of Ed, QLD
Nick / Booth / HESTU Consulting
Lachlan / Murdoch / Macquarie
Trish / Hanlon / USA
Sue / Mililewicz / USA
David / DeBellis / Flinders
Kevin / Duggan / VU, NZ
Senaka / Arachchi / Uni of Adelaide
Kimberley / McAuley / Manuka Inst of Tech
Natalie / Chewins / Flinders University
Rob / Chandler / ECU
Asheesh / Gautam / Uni of the South Pacific
Naomi / Doncaster / Southern Cross Uni
Raj / Sharma / RMIT
John / Kleeman / UNE
Sonia / Ferns / Curtin
Tanya / Tietze / Uni of the Sunshine Coast
Shelley / Kinash / Bond University
Katrina / Chapple / USA
Kerry / Martin / Uni of the Sunshine Coast
Tamara / Hoogrlict / Uni of the Sunshine Coast
Annemarie / Meyer / Uni of Johannesburg
Christina / Elaurza / Singapore Management Uni
Lester / D’Souza / ACU
Federico / Santa Ana / Uni of Adelaide
Laura / Liao / Uni of Melbourne
Megan / Spiliopoulos / Flinders University
Talitha / Bennett / Flinders University
Wendy / Marchment / Wendy Marchment Consulting
Robyn / Peutherer / UTS
Andrew / Bradshaw / Macquarie
Brandon / McGibbon / Uni of Waikato
Fiona / Sutherland / ANU
Andrew / Giles / Deakin
Scott / Nichols / Deakin
Joanna / Allwood / Deakin
Anna / To / Uni of Melbourne
Tanaz / Irani / Uni of Melbourne
Ming Feng / Goh / Uni of Adelaide
David / Hirst / Uni of Adelaide
Mary Anne / Craddock / Uni of Adelaide
Nina / Herriman / Auckland Uni
Ellen / Yeung / Charles Darwin Uni
Simon / Potts / ACU
Naomi / Weaver / Uni of Otago
Pheng / Schooling / ACU
Jenny / Gill / Uni of QLD
Lyndal / Ross / Uni of QLD
Don / Johnston / Southern Cross Uni
Dean / Ward / ECU
Jeff / Holmes / QUT
Andrea / Matulick / USA
Bruce / Guthrie / GCA
Josie / Palermo / Deakin
Rob / Sheehan / Sharp Words
Vivienne / Watts / Avondale
Kathleen / Rabel / Victoria University, Wellington

1.2.Apologies and Proxies:

Apologies were noted from –

1)Tony Lazzara, ECU

  1. Confirmation of the Minutes of the 2008 Annual General Meeting

The Minutes of the meeting held on Friday 21st November, 2008 at the Hyatt Hotel Canberra, were accepted as a true and accurate record of proceedings.

Moved: Bruce Guthrie, Seconded: Rob Sheehan

The Minutes of the previous meeting were accepted by the Annual General Meeting.

  1. Executive Committee’s Report

Josie Palermo, President AAIRpresented the Executive Committee’s Report for 2009 and highlighted the following points from the report:

­Retirement of Committee Member/Co-opting of Council Member – Bob Hall has resigned from the Council due to personal reasons and Kathy Rabel, co-opted as a New Zealand Councillor. Moved: Rob Sheehan, Seconded: David Marr

­Newsletter: AAIR’s newsletter has been well received within Higher Education and VET circles and the work of the Newsletter’s Editor, Rob Sheehan was acknowledged.

­Website Redevelopment - 2008 Forum: It was anticipated that the new AAIR website would be available in early 2010 and would report member networking and knowledge management.

­Sponsorships – AIR had sponsored a number of events Special Interest Groups in Load Planning and Data-warehousing, an Evaluation Forum and a NZ Planning Forum

­Tertiary Education Forum – 23 groups including AAIR had attended a forum at the LH Martin Institute

­Acknowledgement – the previous President’s contributions were noted as he was now leaving Higher Education to pursue at interests

Moved to accept the Report: Andrea Matlick, Seconded: Rob Sheehan

The Executive Committee’s Report was accepted by the Annual General Meeting.

  1. Treasurers Report and Financial Statement

Joseph Bevitt resigned as Treasurer and was replaced by Jeff Holmes.

A Treasurer’s Report was in the process of being audited and would be made available to members on the website.

The Association has a sound financial position as at 30 June 2009.

Moved: Nick Booth, Seconded: Lachlan Murdoch

The Treasurer’sReport was accepted by the Annual General Meeting.

  1. Membership Fee

The President reminded Members that the Membership Fees would be $121 (including GST) for the 2010 Membership year.

Nick Booth confirmed that the Member Fee convention was that the Forum Registration covered membership to the end of December for the following year and that members could join at anytime.

  1. SEAIR Forum

The President advised members that the 2010 SEAAIR Forum was to be held in Tagaytay City, Cavite, Philippines on the 19 to 21st October 2010

  1. Next Meeting

The next AGM is planned for the 2010 Forum to be held in Geelong, Victoria.

The meeting concluded at 10.45am.

Dean Ward
Hon Secretary / Josie Palermo

AAIR 2009 Annual General MeetingPage 1